Photo Licenses and ID Cards:
Who Must Be Licensed
You must have a valid driver license to legally drive in New York State. If you reside in and hold a license from another state or nation, you probably can legally drive in New York State. However, even if you are licensed elsewhere, you may not drive in New York State if you are under age 16. If you have moved to this state, you must turn in your out-of-state license and obtain a New York State license within 30 days after you become a permanent resident. With few exceptions, it is illegal to hold both a New York license and a license from another state. It is also a violation of Federal law to hold more than one commercial driver license (CDL).
How to Apply
To apply for a learner permit, driver license, or non-driver ID card, you must complete an "Application For Driver License Or ID Card" (MV-44), available at any motor vehicle office, by request from a DMV Call Center, and from the DMV Internet Office. You must present the required proof of name and date of birth, and pay the appropriate fee.
Proof of Name and Identity
DMV assigns point values to acceptable documents that prove name and identity. To qualify for a license or ID card, your documents of proof must total at least 6 points. These documents must be original or copies certified by the issuing agency. At least one must include your signature. Photocopies and documents with erasures or changes will not be accepted. NOTE: To see the current acceptable proofs of identity and proof of date of birth, please refer to the ID page of the website.
Proof of Date of Birth
You also must prove your date of birth. Your document must be the original, or a certified photocopy from the issuing agency. DMV will accept ANY ONE of these documents:
Birth certificate issued and certified by a Board of Health or Bureau of Vital Statistics in the U.S., its territories, or possessions. Foreign birth certificates are not acceptable.
NYS Photo License/Permit/Non-Driver ID Card
Military Photo ID Card
Foreign Passport (with USCIS documentation)
NOTE: The USCIS was formerly known as the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS). To see the current acceptable proofs of identity and proof of date of birth, please refer to the ID page of the website.
Social Security Card
A U.S. Social Security Card is required when you apply for an original New York State photo license, learner permit, or non-driver identification card. It is also required when you renew a non-driver identification card.
Valid Periods and Fees
Your first New York State driver license will expire in about 3 to 5 years, on your month and day of birth. Depending on your age, and whether you are applying for a junior operator or full-license permit, your fee will be $52.50 to $90.00. A license renewal is valid for 8 years, and the fee to renew a Class D license is $50.00. These fees include a $10.00 photo document fee.
If you do not drive, you may choose a short-term non-driver ID card valid for 4 to 5 years, or a long-term ID card valid for 8 to 9 years. The exact period of your ID card and your fee depend on whether you select a short-term or long-term ID and the relationship between the date you apply and the expiration date (your month and day of birth). A short-term ID card will cost between $9.00 and $10.00. A long-term ID will cost between $13.00 and $14.00. These fees include a $5.00 photo document fee.
Discounted Non-Driver ID Card For Seniors and SSI Recipients
If you are 62 years old or older or are receiving Social Security Income (SSI), you are eligible for a 10-year ID card at a reduced fee of $6.50. If you are both 62 or older and you receive SSI, there is no fee. If you receive Social Security Income (SSI), in addition to documents proving your name and age, you also must prove you receive SSI. DMV will accept ANY ONE of the following documents from the Social Security Administration as proof that you receive SSI:
Notice of Award
Notice of Change in Payment (SSA-L8151)
Report of Confidential Social Security Benefit Information (SSA-2458)
Benefit Verification Letter
About Your License or ID Card
You will receive a temporary non-photo driver license, learner permit, or ID card when you apply. You should receive your photo license, permit, or ID card through the mail within five weeks. When you receive your photo license, permit, or ID card, examine it to make sure the information and photo are correct. If correction is needed, or if you have not received your photo license or ID card within three weeks, or if it has been lost or stolen, contact a DMV Call Center. Your photo license or ID card is durable, but not indestructible. Keep it from getting wet. Protect it with a plastic sleeve in your purse or wallet, but do not laminate it. Laminating could destroy special built-in security safeguards and make it invalid. The replacement fee is $15 for a "duplicate" photo license. The photo-ID replacement fee is $8.00 for cards valid up to 8 years, and $6.50 for 10-year discounted cards.
Name or Address Change
To change your name on your photo license or ID card, bring it with your proof of name change to any motor vehicle office. Your name change must be confirmed by presenting a marriage license or court papers. The documents of proof must total 6 points (see requirements for identification). The fee for a name change is $10.00 for a photo driver license or learner permit, or $5.00 for a non-driver photo ID card. To change your address, it is not necessary to apply for a new photo license or ID card. Just write your new address in the space provided on the back of the card. Do NOT try to cross out or change the old address on the front. As required by law, be sure to report the new address to the DMV within 10 days of the change. Contact the DMV Call Center or visit the DMV Internet Office to receive a change of address form (MV-232). If you choose, you also may request an application for a "duplicate" photo license or ID card that will show your new address.
Organ or Tissue Donation
Your photo driver license or ID card has space on back for you to make a gift of your organs or tissues upon your death. DMV urges you to "Share Your Life - Share Your Decision" by completing the organ/tissue donor portion of the ID and telling your family about your choice. If you are under 18 years old, you must have parental consent. This gift is your personal choice, and DMV does not keep a record of your donation decision.
DMV Call Center Telephone Numbers
From area codes 212, 347, 646, 718, 917 call: 1-(212) 645-5550 or 1-(718) 966-6155
From area codes 516, 631, 845, 914 call: 1-(800) DIAL DMV (342-5368)
From all other area codes within New York State call: 1-(800) CALL DMV (225-5368)
From outside of New York State call: 1-(518) 473-5595
Hearing and Speech Impaired, TDD Telecommunications Device for the Deaf: